Words

Download: ODESZA - "My Friends Never Die"

By Michelle Lhooq

0

ODESZA are two scrawny white kids from Seattle with an affinity for soft Henley hoodies and psychedelic jaunts in the woods. Their new jam, "My Friends Never Die," feels like crashing down a waterfall on a bouquet of roses with Flying Lotus as your chauffeur. These are stoner jams to smack your bubblegum to—full of hip-hop grooves and sunshine. “My Friends Never Die” is the title track off ODESZA’s latest EP—and with its big, opulent synths, pop vocals and obvious crossover appeal, you can bet these boys are going to be the next Bondax or Disclosure. Damnit, anyone who opens a song with piano chords straight out of “Still D.R.E.” are winners in my book. The My Friends Never Die EP is out September 17.

Tour dates:
 
Sat. Sept. 7 – Portland, OR @ Branx (MusicfestNW)
Sat. Sept. 21 – Oakdale, CA @ Symbiosis Gathering
Sat. Sept. 28 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos (Decibel Festival) 
Mon. Sept. 30 – Orlando, FL @ The Social *
Tue. Oct. 1 – Miami, FI @ The Stage *
Wed. Oct. 2 – Tampa, FL @ Crowbar *
Thu. Oct. 3 – Atlanta, GA @ The Basement *
Fri. Oct. 4 – Knoxville, TN @ NV Nightclub *
Sat. Oct. 5 – Charleston, SC @ The Pour House * 
Tue. Oct. 8 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall *
Wed. Oct. 9 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern *
Thu. Oct. 10 – Richmond, VA @ Canal Club *
Fri. Oct. 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Bowl *
Sat. Oct. 12 – Cambridge, MA @ The Middle East *
Sun. Oct. 13 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground *
Wed. Oct. 16 – Grand Rapids, MI @ The Stache *
Thu. Oct. 17 – Chicago, IL @ Park West *
Fri. Oct. 18 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon *
Sat. Oct. 19 – Milwaukee, WI @ Miramar Theatre *
Sun. Oct. 20 – Minneapolis, MN @ Skyway Theatre *
Wed. Oct. 23 – Bozeman, MT @ Zebra Cocktail Lounge *
Wed. Nov. 20 – Missoula, MT @ Adams Center #
Thu. Nov. 21 – Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory #
Wed. Nov. 27 – Reno, NV @ Silver State Pavilion #
 
* w/ Michal Menert
# w/ Pretty Lights
 
Michelle is singing along in the shower @MichelleLHOOQ

Comments